RTT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

RTT Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • AECA's current routes are education/training, work experience with employer verification, or military education/experience with documentation.
  • Current numeric thresholds for age, education, training hours and experience months were not specified in the retrieved live material.
  • The 2016 handbook lists age 18, a high-school diploma or equivalent, and six months of full-time experience for the experience/military route.
  • Certification lasts one year; annual renewal costs USD 50 plus CEUs supplied through the renewal process.

Which RTT This Article Covers

"RTT" is a crowded acronym, so one clarification comes first. This guide covers only the Rehabilitation Therapy Technician (RTT) certification issued through the American Education Certification Association (AECA). AECA's certification directory lists it as the Certified Rehabilitation Therapy Technician, abbreviated CRTT, and its credential page uses that name. It is not respiratory therapy, not radiation therapy, not the AMCA Physical Therapy Technician credential (PTTC), and not AECA's separate Physical Therapy Aide credential.

If you are still orienting yourself, the pages What Is RTT Certification? and What Does RTT Stand For? cover the naming in more depth. This article stays focused on one question: what do you actually need in order to qualify?

A note on certainty: AECA's live pages describe the eligibility routes but do not publish firm numeric thresholds for them. Rather than guess, this article separates what the current pages say from what an older, externally hosted 2016 handbook says. Always confirm current details directly with AECA before you apply.

The Three Eligibility Routes

AECA's current registration material describes three ways to establish eligibility. You need to satisfy only one of them, so the right choice depends on your background.

Route 1: Education or Training

This route covers completion of education or training in the field, either in the United States or internationally, or an equivalent. It suits candidates who have just finished a rehabilitation-technician, allied-health or similar training program and want a credential that reflects it. The live material does not publish a minimum number of training hours, so do not assume a specific figure. If your program issued a transcript, certificate or completion letter, that paperwork is the natural supporting evidence.

Route 2: Work Experience or Equivalent

This route recognizes on-the-job experience, backed by employer verification. It fits aides, techs and support staff who learned the role in a clinic, hospital, skilled nursing facility or outpatient rehabilitation setting without a formal program. The retrieved live material does not state how many months of experience are required. The historical 2016 handbook did give a figure (discussed below), but treat that as background rather than a current rule.

Route 3: Military Education or Experience

Military education or experience, supported by documentation, forms the third route. Veterans who worked as rehabilitation or physical-medicine corpsmen or technicians may qualify through service records and training transcripts. As with the other routes, the specific current thresholds were not spelled out in the retrieved pages.

What Is Verified Today vs. What Is Historical

Candidates often find old requirement lists online and assume they still apply. The 2016 AECA candidate handbook, hosted on an external site and not verified as the current edition, lists these thresholds for the experience/military route:

  • Minimum age of 18
  • High-school diploma or equivalent
  • Six months of full-time experience

These are plausible baselines, and many candidates will find they satisfy them comfortably. But they come from a dated source. The current live pages confirm the routes without restating those numbers, so the honest position is: expect something like these thresholds, and verify with AECA before relying on them.

Why this matters: If you are 17, or you are weighing whether five months of part-time work counts, do not decide from a blog post, including this one. Send AECA your specific situation and keep the reply for your records.

Comparing the Routes Side by Side

RouteWhat You ShowWho It FitsCurrent Numeric Threshold
Education/training (US or international, or equivalent)Evidence of completed education or trainingRecent program graduatesNot specified in retrieved live material
Work experience or equivalentEmployer verification of experienceWorking aides and techs without a formal programNot specified live; 2016 handbook listed six months full-time
Military education/experienceSupporting military documentationVeterans with rehabilitation-related serviceNot specified live; 2016 handbook listed age 18, diploma/equivalent, six months full-time

Documentation and Registration Mechanics

AECA administers certification through its own registration and testing-site process. No current external exam-delivery vendor was verified, and neither was a confirmed online-versus-test-center arrangement. Practically, that means your application path runs through AECA's exam registration page, where the eligibility routes are described.

The 2016 handbook described approved proctored and paper testing with multiple-choice knowledge questions. Whether that still reflects current delivery was not reconfirmed, so treat testing logistics as something to ask about at registration rather than assume.

A Practical Documentation Checklist

  • Education route: gather transcripts, certificates or completion letters showing what you studied.
  • Experience route: ask your supervisor or HR office for a written verification of your role, dates and duties. Do this early, because employer paperwork is the most common source of delay.
  • Military route: collect service records and training documentation that describe your rehabilitation-related duties.
  • All routes: keep government ID and proof of your high-school diploma or equivalent on hand in case it is requested.

What the Exam Content Outline Expects

Qualifying to sit the exam is only half the project; you also need to be ready for what it covers. AECA publishes an undated three-page PDF, the Rehabilitation Therapy Technician Exam Content Outline According to Industry Standard Needs Study, that lists 14 top-level content sections. These are unweighted headings. AECA publishes no percentage allocation and does not identify a most-heavily-tested area, so this article does not claim one.

The 14 Content Sections in AECA's Outline

  1. Legal & Ethics (Healthcare)
  2. Communication
  3. Medical Terminology
  4. Anatomy & Physiology
  5. Common Disorders
  6. Basic Administrative Role
  7. CPR
  8. First Aid Training
  9. Introduction To Safety
  10. Patient Preparation/Transfers
  11. Vital signs
  12. Assistive Devices
  13. Interviewing skill/job application, Professional presentation
  14. Patient Care Skills

Notice the mix. Some sections are clinical-skills topics (patient transfers, vital signs, assistive devices), some are foundational science (anatomy and physiology, medical terminology, common disorders), and some are workplace-professional topics (legal and ethics, communication, administrative duties, interviewing and professional presentation). For a deeper walk through each, see RTT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 14 Content Areas.

Two descriptions of the same content: AECA's credential page gives a shorter list of seven broader topics: Anatomy and Physiology; Medical Terminology; Legal Issues; Infection Control; Patient Care; Therapeutic Modalities; and Administrative & Clerical Skills. AECA does not explain how this summary relates to the 14-section PDF. The detailed PDF is the better guide for studying; the seven-topic list is a useful reminder that infection control and therapeutic modalities appear in AECA's own summary.

How Your Eligibility Route Shapes Your Strengths

Your route into the credential often predicts where you are strong and where you need work:

  • Experience-route candidates tend to be comfortable with Patient Preparation/Transfers, Vital signs, Assistive Devices and Patient Care Skills because they do them daily, but may be rusty on Medical Terminology, Anatomy & Physiology and Legal & Ethics.
  • Education-route candidates often hold the opposite profile: strong on terminology and anatomy, lighter on hands-on instincts for transfers and equipment.
  • Military-route candidates frequently have strong CPR, First Aid Training and safety habits, but may need to learn civilian healthcare law, documentation conventions and Basic Administrative Role expectations.

The RTT Study Guide 2026 builds on this idea of studying your gaps first.

Scope of Practice: What This Credential Is and Is Not

A rehabilitation therapy technician provides delegated rehabilitation care under professional supervision. The certification demonstrates knowledge and readiness for that supportive role. It is not a license as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant, and it does not grant authority to practice physical or occupational therapy independently.

Key Takeaway

Qualifying for the RTT exam does not change your legal scope of practice. Your duties are still set by your employer, your supervising professional and your state's rules. That is also why Legal & Ethics (Healthcare) sits first in AECA's outline.

People frequently confuse this credential with its neighbors. If you are weighing the RTT against a Physical Therapy Aide credential or the AMCA PTTC, remember that they are separate certifications from different issuers or with different names. Compare their requirements individually rather than assuming they match.

Fees, Validity and Renewal Requirements

Eligibility is not only about getting in; it is also about staying certified. Here is what is known and what is not.

ItemWhat the Research Supports
Initial exam fee, currentNot verified from a live checkout
Historical fee (2016 handbook)USD 75 member / USD 135 non-member; historical only
Certification validityOne year
Annual renewalUSD 50, plus CEUs supplied through the renewal process
Reinstatement, expired under one yearUSD 99
Reinstatement, expired over one but under two yearsUSD 199
CEU quantityNo fixed credit count published on the credential page or in the CEU manual

One earlier review reported a USD 135 figure from an issuer-indexed description, but that price was not independently reconfirmed, so confirm the amount at registration. For a fuller cost discussion, see RTT Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

AECA's CEU manual, last updated 02/11/2019, describes an end-of-CEU assessment. Because the manual does not state a fixed number of credits, check the renewal process itself for what is currently required. Reinstatement pricing is published only for expiry under one year and for expiry between one and two years; other intervals should not be assumed.

Renewal is part of "qualifying": Because the credential lasts only one year, think of eligibility as an ongoing relationship. Put your renewal date on a calendar the day you pass, and note that a lapse of under a year costs USD 99 to reinstate versus USD 50 to renew on time.

A Qualification Plan Built Around the Outline

The one study-planning section in this article ties scheduling directly to AECA's 14 sections. The order below front-loads paperwork, which has the longest lead time, and then groups content by how it connects.

Week 1

Confirm Route and Request Paperwork

  • Pick your route and contact AECA to confirm current thresholds.
  • Request employer verification, transcripts or military records.
  • Skim the 14-section outline to mark your strong and weak areas.
Week 2

Foundations: Terminology, Anatomy, Disorders

  • Medical Terminology and Anatomy & Physiology first, since they support nearly everything else.
  • Common Disorders next, linking each condition to the body systems you just reviewed.
Week 3

Hands-On Skills and Safety

  • Patient Preparation/Transfers, Vital signs and Assistive Devices.
  • CPR, First Aid Training and Introduction To Safety alongside them.
  • Patient Care Skills to tie the clinical sections together.
Week 4

Professional Practice and Review

  • Legal & Ethics (Healthcare), Communication and Basic Administrative Role.
  • Interviewing skill/job application, Professional presentation.
  • Full review and practice questions on the RTT practice test.

If the exam's difficulty is on your mind, How Hard Is the RTT Exam? discusses what to expect, and RTT Passing Score 2026 explains why no verified numeric cutoff is available. Candidates asking about timing can also read RTT Exam Dates 2026. When you are ready to test your recall, the RTT Exam Prep practice questions are organized around these same sections.

Questions to Settle Before You Register

  • Which route fits me, and what exact documents does AECA want for it?
  • What is the current exam fee, and is there a member/non-member difference?
  • How is the exam delivered, and are accommodations available?
  • How many questions and how much time will I have? The 2016 handbook listed a maximum of 100 questions, but a current count and timer were not publicly verified.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a formal training program to qualify for the RTT exam?

Not necessarily. AECA describes three routes: education/training, work experience with employer verification, or military education/experience with documentation. You need to satisfy only one.

What is the minimum age to take the RTT exam?

The current live pages retrieved did not specify a minimum age. The historical 2016 handbook listed 18 for the experience/military route, so confirm the current rule with AECA before applying.

How much work experience do I need?

The current live material does not state a number of months. The 2016 handbook listed six months of full-time experience for the experience/military route, but that is a dated source and should be verified.

Does the RTT let me work as a physical therapist assistant?

No. The certification supports delegated rehabilitation care under professional supervision. It is not a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant license and does not authorize independent therapy practice.

How long does the certification last, and what does renewal cost?

Certification is valid for one year. Annual renewal is USD 50 and requires CEUs supplied through the renewal process. Reinstatement is USD 99 if expired under one year and USD 199 if expired over one but under two years.

For a broader view of whether the credential fits your goals, see Is the RTT Certification Worth It? and RTT Jobs for the kinds of roles candidates typically pursue.

Ready to pass your RTT exam?

Put this into practice with free RTT questions across every exam domain.