RTT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

RTT Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • No verified, current pass rate for the AECA Rehabilitation Therapy Technician exam is published, so any specific percentage you see is unsourced.
  • AECA's outline lists 14 unweighted content headings; no percentage allocation or highest-weighted domain is published.
  • Prepare for all 14 headings equally, from Legal & Ethics through Patient Care Skills, since no section is signaled as lighter.
  • The historical 2016 handbook lists a maximum of 100 multiple-choice questions, but the current count is not publicly verified.

What the Pass-Rate Data Actually Shows

If you searched for the 2026 pass rate for the Rehabilitation Therapy Technician (RTT) exam, here is the honest answer up front: the issuing body, the American Education Certification Association (AECA), does not publish a current numeric pass rate on the credential page, the exam content outline or the registration pages we reviewed. There is also no verified numeric cutoff score published for this exact credential.

That may feel unsatisfying, but it is more useful than a made-up number. This article explains what is known, what is not, why a single percentage would tell you less than you think, and how to convert the facts that are published into a concrete preparation strategy. If you want a broader read on difficulty, see our companion piece, How Hard Is the RTT Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Scope note: "RTT" here means the AECA Rehabilitation Therapy Technician credential (listed in AECA's directory as CRTT, Certified Rehabilitation Therapy Technician). It is not respiratory therapy, radiation therapy, the AMCA PTTC, or AECA's separate Physical Therapy Aide credential. Pass-rate figures quoted for any of those do not apply here.

Who Runs the Exam and Why It Matters for Pass Statistics

Large licensure and certification programs often publish annual pass statistics because they test thousands of candidates through a centralized vendor. The AECA RTT works differently. AECA administers certification through its own registration and testing-site process, and we did not verify any external exam-delivery vendor or a confirmed online-versus-test-center arrangement for this specific exam.

That structure helps explain the missing data. Without a centralized public reporting pipeline, there is no routine annual release of first-time and repeat pass percentages that you could cite. For logistics on how candidates get into the testing process, our guide to RTT exam dates, testing windows and scheduling walks through what is and is not confirmed.

Why a Single Percentage Would Mislead You

Even if AECA published one, a headline pass rate is a weak planning tool for this credential. Consider what feeds into it:

  • Varied candidate backgrounds. AECA's current routes include education or training (in the US or internationally), work experience with employer verification, and military education or experience with supporting documentation. A rate blending a fresh program graduate with a ten-year rehab aide mixes very different starting points.
  • Unknown retake mix. Pass rates that combine first attempts and retakes can look higher or lower than what a first-time candidate should expect.
  • Unpublished passing criteria. With no verified numeric cutoff, there is no way to reverse-engineer how hard it is to clear the bar.
  • Unknown exam form. No numbered or dated current exam version is published, so a rate tied to an old form may not describe today's exam.

What predicts your result is not an industry-wide average. It is how well you cover every content heading on the outline and whether you have practiced applied scenarios, not just vocabulary. For the passing-criteria question specifically, see RTT Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

What AECA Has Published About the Exam

Here is a reality check on the facts you can build a plan around, separated from the facts that remain unverified.

TopicWhat is verifiedWhat is not verified
Pass rateNothing publishedAny current percentage
Passing scoreNo numeric cutoff found in exact-credential sourcesCut score, scoring method, scored/unscored split
Question countHistorical 2016 handbook lists a maximum of 100 questionsCurrent count and timer
Format2016 handbook: multiple-choice knowledge questions, proctored/paper testing describedCurrent item types, delivery mode, any practical component
Content14 unweighted headings in AECA's outline PDFPercentage weights per heading
ValidityOne year; annual renewal fee USD 50 plus CEUsA fixed CEU credit quantity

Notice the pattern: the content scope is well documented, while the scoring outcomes are not. That tells you where to put your effort. You cannot control or predict a cut score, but you can fully map and master the content.

The 14 Content Headings Behind Every Pass or Fail

AECA's exam content outline (the "Industry Standard Needs Study" document) lists 14 top-level content headings. Importantly, they are unweighted: AECA publishes no percentage allocation and no "highest-weighted domain." Do not trust any resource that claims otherwise. A complete walkthrough lives in RTT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 14 Content Areas; here is the list at a glance.

  1. Legal & Ethics (Healthcare)
  2. Communication
  3. Medical Terminology
  4. Anatomy & Physiology
  5. Common Disorders
  6. Basic Administrative Role
  7. CPR
  8. First Aid Training
  9. Introduction To Safety
  10. Patient Preparation/Transfers
  11. Vital signs
  12. Assistive Devices
  13. Interviewing skill/job application, Professional presentation
  14. Patient Care Skills
Two outlines, one exam: AECA's credential web page separately summarizes seven broader topics: Anatomy and Physiology; Medical Terminology; Legal Issues; Infection Control; Patient Care; Therapeutic Modalities; and Administrative & Clerical Skills. The issuer does not explain how the seven-topic summary relates to the 14-heading PDF. The detailed PDF is the better study map, but it is smart to also be comfortable with infection control and therapeutic modalities concepts, since the web summary names them.

Where Candidates Are Likely to Struggle, and Why

Because no domain-level results are published, any claim about "the hardest section" is inference rather than data. Still, the shape of the outline suggests where preparation gaps tend to appear. The outline mixes three very different kinds of knowledge, and candidates usually come in strong in one and thin in another.

Recall-heavy content

Medical Terminology, Anatomy & Physiology, Common Disorders

These are the vocabulary-and-structure headings. They reward memorization of prefixes, suffixes, body systems and the conditions rehab technicians routinely encounter.

  • Build word-part fluency so you can decode unfamiliar terms instead of memorizing each one.
  • Connect each body system to the disorders and movement limitations that affect rehab care.
  • Expect questions that use terminology inside a patient scenario rather than as an isolated definition.

Procedure and safety content

Patient Preparation/Transfers, Vital signs, Assistive Devices, Introduction To Safety

This cluster is where a technician's daily work lives, and where knowing the "what" is not enough. You need the correct sequence and the reason behind each step.

  • Patient transfers: positioning, body mechanics, and what to check before and after moving a patient.
  • Vital signs: what each measurement means, normal-versus-concerning ranges you should recognize, and when to report.
  • Assistive devices: matching the device to the need and recognizing proper fit and use.
  • Safety: hazard awareness and protecting both patient and staff.

Judgment and professionalism content

Legal & Ethics, Communication, Basic Administrative Role, Interviewing skill/Professional presentation

Candidates from hands-on backgrounds sometimes underestimate these headings because they feel "soft." They are still examinable content, and scenario questions often hinge on scope of practice and confidentiality.

  • Know the limits of a delegated role: the credential reflects supervised rehabilitation care, not authority for independent physical or occupational therapy practice, and it is not a PT or PTA license.
  • Practice recognizing when a situation requires escalation to a supervising professional.

Emergency-response content

CPR and First Aid Training

These two headings are easy to overlook because many candidates already hold a CPR card. Holding a card is not the same as being ready for exam questions on the underlying concepts, so review them as knowledge topics too.

For a section-by-section drill plan, the RTT Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt goes deeper, and the RTT Cheat Sheet 2026 condenses the must-know facts onto one page.

How to Spot Bogus Pass-Rate Claims

Because the official numbers do not exist publicly, the vacuum gets filled by marketing. Use these filters before you believe any statistic.

  1. Ask for the source. A real figure names who measured it, when, and how many candidates were included. "Students report" or "our users" is not an exam result.
  2. Check the credential name. Several unrelated certifications share the "RTT" abbreviation. A pass rate, fee or domain weight belonging to a different credential is irrelevant to the AECA Rehabilitation Therapy Technician exam.
  3. Distrust precise weights. If a site assigns exact percentages to each domain, remember that AECA publishes none.
  4. Separate practice-test scores from exam outcomes. Third-party practice-product claims describe how people did on practice material, not on the real exam.
  5. Look for the date. No numbered or dated current exam version is published, so old statistics may describe an outdated form.

Key Takeaway

The absence of a published pass rate is not a signal that the exam is easy or impossibly hard. It simply means you should plan against the content outline, which is the one thing AECA does publish in detail.

Cost, Retake Planning and Renewal: The Numbers You Can Use

Pass-rate curiosity often comes from a practical worry: what if I do not pass the first time? The financial picture is only partly confirmed, so here is what is solid and what is not.

  • Initial exam fee: The current initial price and any member/non-member difference were not verified from a live checkout. A prior review reported an issuer-indexed USD 135 description, and the externally hosted 2016 handbook listed USD 75 for members and USD 135 for non-members. Treat these as historical or unconfirmed rather than as a guaranteed 2026 fee.
  • Annual renewal: USD 50 per year, along with continuing education units (CEUs) supplied through the renewal process. No fixed credit quantity is published.
  • Reinstatement: AECA's credential page lists USD 99 for a credential that expired less than one year ago and USD 199 for one expired more than one but less than two years. Other intervals are not stated.
  • Retake fee and retake policy: Not verified for the current exam, so confirm directly with AECA before registering.

Our RTT Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown lays these out line by line, and Is the RTT Certification Worth It? weighs them against career value. If salary is your motivation, note that no certification-specific salary uplift was verified; general occupational estimates exist, but they are not proof of what the credential itself earns. See the RTT Salary Guide 2026 for that context.

A Domain-Ordered Prep Plan

Since nothing indicates which headings are weighted more heavily, the safest strategy is balanced coverage with extra repetition on the procedural headings, where scenario questions tend to punish gaps. The plan below sequences the 14 headings by type rather than by an invented weighting. Adjust the pace to your own timeline and background; it is a template, not an official schedule.

Week 1

Vocabulary foundation

  • Medical Terminology: word parts, abbreviations, directional terms.
  • Anatomy & Physiology: body systems and the movements rehab relies on.
Week 2

Conditions and the clinical setting

  • Common Disorders tied back to the body systems from Week 1.
  • Legal & Ethics (Healthcare) and Communication: scope of practice, confidentiality, reporting.
Week 3

Hands-on procedures

  • Patient Preparation/Transfers, Vital signs and Assistive Devices.
  • Introduction To Safety, CPR and First Aid Training.
Week 4

Professional skills and full review

  • Patient Care Skills, Basic Administrative Role, and Interviewing skill/Professional presentation.
  • Timed mixed-topic practice, then return to your weakest two headings.

Why this order? Terminology and anatomy come first because they underpin the language of every later heading. Procedures come mid-plan so you have the vocabulary to understand them. The final week mixes everything, because the real exam will not announce which heading a question belongs to. If you are still deciding whether you qualify to sit for the exam, read RTT Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify first; current age, education and experience thresholds were not specified in the live material we retrieved, though the historical 2016 handbook listed age 18, a high-school diploma or equivalent, and six months of full-time experience for the experience/military route.

When you are ready to test yourself against realistic questions, the RTT practice test mirrors the multiple-choice knowledge style described in AECA's handbook, and you can review individual headings in the full set of practice questions to find your weakest areas before test day.

Key Takeaway

Use the pass-rate question as a prompt to audit yourself: can you explain, apply and spot errors in each of the 14 headings? If so, you have prepared against the only standard that is actually published.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the pass rate for the AECA Rehabilitation Therapy Technician exam in 2026?

No current pass rate is published by AECA, and we did not find a verified figure in the exact-credential sources. Any specific percentage you encounter is unsourced or belongs to a different "RTT" credential. Plan against the 14-heading content outline instead.

What score do I need to pass the RTT exam?

A current numeric cutoff and detailed passing criteria were not verified from the exact-credential sources. Confirm the standard with AECA during registration. Our RTT passing score guide tracks what is and is not confirmed.

How many questions are on the exam, and how long do I get?

The current question count, scored/unscored split and timer are not publicly verified. The historical 2016 candidate handbook listed a maximum of 100 questions for this credential, but that is not a guaranteed current number.

Are any of the 14 content areas weighted more heavily?

AECA publishes no percentage allocation and does not identify a highest-weighted heading. The 14 headings, from Legal & Ethics (Healthcare) through Patient Care Skills, are presented as unweighted, so prepare for all of them.

If I do not pass, how much does it cost to try again?

A current retake fee and policy were not verified. The initial exam price was also not confirmed from a live checkout, so check AECA's registration process directly. For the historical and reported figures, see our pricing breakdown.

For more background on the credential itself, see What Is RTT Certification?, and if you are exploring where it can lead, RTT Jobs covers the employment side.

Ready to pass your RTT exam?

Put this into practice with free RTT questions across every exam domain.